Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Researchers
  • Prof.  Ilan Rosenshine
Prof Ilan Rosenshine
 
 
Research Interest and Projects
We investigate the molecular cross-talk between pathogenic bacteria and mammalian host cells. The host employ intricate array of systems to neutralize, eliminate and kill the intruding bacteria. In response, pathogens make use of their virulence machinery to evade and interfere with the host defences and to attack the host cells. Key virulence machinery is a surface organelle termed type III protein secretion system (TTSS). The TTSS is a nano-syringe, employed by pathogens to inject into the host cell a battery of proteins termed “effectors”. The injected effectors function in concert to subvert host processes to benefit the pathogen. Our research focuses mainly on entropathogenic E. coli (EPEC) and it’s TTSS, which is essential for virulence and one of the best studied TTSSs.
Major project in the lab include investigation of:
  • The function of the type III protein secretion system and the dynamic of the injection activity.
  • Manipulation of host cell processes by injected effector proteins.
  • The regulatory network that control the expression of the TTSS and effector genes.
Images and Movies
Movies 1 and 2. Protein injection into infected cells by enteropathognic E. coli
The bacteria label in red form a microcolony that attached to human cells label with green. The bacteria are using a nano syringe to inject into the human cell a protein that hydrolyzes the green marker converting it to blue. For a more complete description of the movies refer to Dynamics of the type III secretion system activity of enteropathogenic Escherichia coli. Mills E, Baruch K, Aviv G, Nitzan M, Rosenshine I. MBio. 2013 Jul 30;4(4). pii: e00303-13. doi: 10.1128/mBio.00303-13.
Movies 3 and 4. Protein injection into infected cells by Salmonella
Human cells label with green were infected with a Salmonella strain. The bacteria are using a nano syringe to inject into the human cell a protein that hydrolyzes the green marker converting it to blue. For a more complete description of the movies refer to Dynamics of the type III secretion system activity of enteropathogenic Escherichia coli. Mills E, Baruch K, Aviv G, Nitzan M, Rosenshine I. MBio. 2013 Jul 30;4(4). pii: e00303-13. doi: 10.1128/mBio.00303-13.
Lab Members
Yael Litvak, Postdoctoral Reaserch fellow (yael.litvak@mail.huji.ac.il)
Arwa Abu-Khweek, Postdoctoral Research fellow (arwaa@ekmd.huji.ac.il)
Lihi Gur-Arie, Ph.D student (lihigurarie@mail.huji.ac.il)
Naama Nagar, Ph.D student (nagar.naama@mail.huji.ac.il)
Shir Sharon, Ph.D student (shir.kerem@mail.huji.ac.il)
Meirav Hyams Master Student (meiravh@ekmd.huji.ac.il)
Amit Weiner, B.Sc student (amit.weiner@mail.huji.ac.il)
David Drezner, B.Sc student (david.drezner@mail.huji.ac.il)
Simi Kobi Technician (simik@ekmd.huji.ac.il)
Open positions
We have openings for M.Sc., Ph.D., and postdoctoral studies. Excellent candidates are encouraged to contact Prof. Ilan Rosenshine (ilanr@ekmd.huji.ac.il).
Lab pictures
website by Bynet Software Systems